What drink would you like with that?

I have a job. That job requires me to sell fast food to anyone wanting to buy, asking them questions and giving them options to cater to their wants and needs. That all sounds very simple and easy… that is until I get to the question that may result in myself inwardly cringing at the answer.”What drink would you like with that?” I ask, cheerfully and as helpful as possible, hoping that this customer won’t choose to have me hand them a can or bottle of poison. That this customer won’t choose bloody Diet Coke or Coke Zero. I think to myself, sure, all these drinks are filled with sugar and additives, but for the love of god at least they don’t contain that little ingredient called aspartame, something I’m surprised is even allowed to be associated with the things we put into our bodies.

What is aspartame you may ask? To put it quite simply: poison, or in a more languished way: an artificial sweetener made up of aspartic acid, phenylalanine, and methanol, pretty much putting it under the category of a chemical poison. Now I don’t know about you, but this kind of freaks me out. All of our health regulators obviously gave the okay for aspartame to be used in food and drink products, even though we don’t really know the long, long-term effects of over consumption. This chemical has already been linked to symptoms of headaches/migraines, dizziness, seizures, nausea, numbness, muscle spasms, weight gain, rashes, depression, fatigue, irritability, tachycardia, insomnia, vision problems, hearing loss, heart palpitations, breathing difficulties, anxiety attacks, slurred speech, loss of taste, tinnitus, vertigo, memory loss, and joint pain (1) …and that’s just a selection of ninety different symptoms reported to the FDA.

You would probably think that if government institutions tested aspartame for themselves they would come up with a similar result, thus deeming the artificial sweetener unfit for human consumption. Are they that negligent? They’re probably not about to admit that they are wrong, even though some countries have even gone so far as to ban the substance entirely.

If some governments are taking it that seriously, the dangers of aspartame can’t just be some elaborate hoax, like some internet sites I have come across would lead you to believe.

Even in my asking of the dreaded question of “What drink would you like?”, a lady said to me that she wanted regular coke, making a point of saying that Diet and Zero were poison. Hallelujah! Some one is aware. She apparently noticed that the Zero and Diet were causing her and her family health problems as she and they felt much better once they had stopped drinking it.

So, I don’t really drink soft drink, but if I ever do I’ll make certain that I drink the non diet stuff. I mean what’s wrong with good ol’ regular coke. If you’re on a diet you wouldn’t be drinking fizzy anyway. Here’s an idea if you’re off the sugar… it’s called water….because, hey, that has zero calories too!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

