Who’s a good girl?

Sometimes the littlest things can get me thinking. A certain lyric in a song, a news story on the television, or merely just something someone has said to me. These little things crank my strange mind into overdrive, imagining and pondering things I never would have thought of before. So when I served a lady a drink today and she replied with “good girl” instead of the accustomed “thank you”, my mind immediately jumped to a vision of her patting my head and me jumping up and down panting my tongue and wagging my tail. I even almost expected a food treat instead of cash payment…

So as I stared into the wide, not so green yonder of the food court, I pondered the thought that some working people possess characteristics that are somewhat akin to a puppy dog’s. After all dogs take commands without question, surrendering their independent thought as they jump when their owners say jump, and comply with shake hands and roll over. They are expected to be indisputably happy and accommodating, pretty much all the time. When dogs do well they are rewarded with treats and a pat on the head, and when they do something bad they are punished, the leash shortening and a disheartened whimper ringing as the chain around their neck tightens. And that occasionally puppies are taken out to socialize with other puppies, and they bound around sniffing each others butts, marking their territory and climbing on one another to establish their dominance.

And on the other side some people in the work force do what their bosses tell them without question. They surrender their independent thought as they jump when their bosses say jump, and comply with ‘shake hands with that guy’ and ‘don’t argue’. Some workers are supposed to seem indisputably happy all the time, and welcoming to customers. When workers do well they are rewarded with bonuses and a good old pat on the back, and when they do something bad they are punished, their ability to work independently quashed and a disheartened whimper ringing as they are roused upon. Occasionally working people are taken out to socialize with their work mates, they may bound around brown-nosing each other, marking their territory at the bar or on the dance floor, and establishing their dominance by being in charge of the drinks budget, or in some drunken cases climbing all over one another…

This comparison had me smirking to myself, and no one could have guessed, if they cared to notice, that my amused expression was the direct result of picturing a bunch of people prancing around in business suits, bending over to sniff one another’s behinds…

So, yes, I do go to a lot of strange and bizarre places when I let my mind wander, but at least they’re more interesting than the food court.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Who’s a good girl?

  1. Ruthbug says:

    No wonder your mind drifted into this chain of thought, if a lady said “good girl” to me, I would probably inquire “excuse me?” Some people just have different ways of phrasing, and they aren’t always favourable. But it’s true, we are comparable to dogs, we are domesticated, forced to act in ways that aren’t our biological nature, and it’s all like a game, with a pat on the head or scold at the end of it. I liked this post!

Leave a Reply

