Three Things I Take for Granted that Not Everyone Knows About

Idealistic teenager as I was, I began this blog as mainly a forum for my alternate health views, preaching about the use of poisonous artificial sweeteners in diet soft drinks and heavy metals in deodorants. Interesting stuff, I know, but for some reason not as interesting as sarcastic anecdotes about my everyday life, my now usual blog fodder. I’m not standing on my soapbox, however, thinking that I’m bringing enlightenment to the blogosphere, I’m merely reflecting that I, being raised by a mother who spends a healthy majority of her time researching and testing out alternative health products, take for granted that not everyone in the world has been educated in certain products that are truly helpful and wonderful for everyday health.

So, here we are people. You may already be on these bandwagons…

Number One: Coconut Oil (Natural, not hydrogenated)

Topically, it’s a great moisturiser, can assist with skin conditions like eczema and scarring, is an antioxidant, an antibacterial and anti fungal that can be used on cuts and wounds, and a hair conditioner that can also help with dandruff.

Internally, it can lower cholesterol and high blood pressure, dissolve kidney stones, support a healthy thyroid, can help speed up your metabolism, beneficial to asthma sufferers, regulates blood sugar, rich source of fibre and vitamins, can boost the immune system, assists in the absorption of calcium and magnesium, is heat-resistant and doesn’t turn into that nasty kind of fat (trans fatty acid) when you heat it, like other oils can, and the list goes on…

Plus things fried in coconut oil are way tasty…

Number Two: Apple Cider Vinegar (Raw, with the ‘Mother’ – filtered or altered ACV doesn’t have any of these benefits)

Topically, it can help with body odor, reduce, and in some cases, cure acne, reduce the appearance of age spots and also cellulite.

Internally, it can speed up your metabolism and help with weight loss, it can control high blood sugar levels, and in some cases is used to help with diabetes, is a natural cure for stomach problems like not being able to go loo and going to the loo too much…, and also beneficial for cases of bad breath.

ACV, however, does taste a bit gross, and I cringe whenever my mum suggests I take some. But really, with those health benefits, even I’d be willing to suck it up.

Number Three: Colloidal Silver

Colloidal Silver is silver put through an electromagnetic process and mixed into distilled water, the silver then being small enough to pass through the membranes of cells. It is one of the most powerful natural antibiotics known to man. It is helpful against acne, allergies, arthritis, athlete’s foot, boils, burns, candida, cystitis, diabetes, eczema, hay fever, indigestion, parasitic infections, psoriasis, ringworm, warts, and yeast infections.

Personally, I use it for scratchy or sore throats, as it has amazing antibacterial properties. It actually helps me when I have a cold too, so props to the colloidal silver.

So,  there they are folks, three natural remedies that are pretty ace (yes, I did just say ace). So, use them, continue to use them, go nuts and stay healthy.

Until next time…Bonsoir (I’m about to go to French Class)

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Three Things I Take for Granted that Not Everyone Knows About

  1. neurochique says:

    Thanks for the excellent info. When you say internal coconut oil do you use it in cooking, or just chug it down like chicken nuggets without the chicken nuggets?

    • abbeyh91 says:

      You’re welcome. You can just eat a teaspoon or so of coconut oil for general health purposes, it’s usually solid unless the weather’s quite warm…

Leave a Reply

