So…you think you’re a cat.

I discovered, in the way imperial powers sail the world and discover new and foreign lands, Thai takeaway in the Uni plaza the other day. A welcome change to the usual meat and salad wrap that consists mostly of iceberg lettuce. I hate iceberg lettuce, it’s about as flavorsome as an iceberg and the most boring lettuce in the entire cosmos. Don’t even think about putting it in my wrap! Especially in one you call a Greek wrap. I’m pretty sure the Greeks did not have iceberg lettuce with their lamb Souvlaki. You’re cheapening my wrap experience. This is why Cashew Nut Chicken saved my lunch time.

I took my meal to a sunny little table amongst the trees that I had previously walked passed and sprayed all my mind juices on, that is, mentally claimed. I casually power walked to that table, throwing averted glances at all the passes by, internally hissing and raising my heckles like a territorial cat…raow. Luckily for them they stayed away from my table. I ate alone and when you eat alone by choice, you must feign busyness to avoid that glazed over look you may adopt whilst shoveling food into your mouth, staring into the distance, lost in your own thoughts. It appears kind of sad, even if in reality your just enjoying the serenity of the place. Ah, the serenity. So I started writing a future blog entry about the weather in Autumn, to which you might say: “Oh really? You must tell me more! Oh, please miss, I am ever so fascinated by the weather in Autumn.” And I would reply, “Don’t be a smartass. You will sit there and listen to another one of my rambling anecdotes about nothing.”

Because it’s that time of year again, when the air turns cool and crisp and the sun is prime for basking like a reptilian, soaking up those rays like they’re the giver of life itself. My friend once had a word for it – Salamander. Yes, he did compare me to a lizard and hopefully my penchant for lazy sun bathing was the only reason for it. They say that memories are highly triggered by scent and smell, so I figure that could be extended to feeling temperatures and changing climates as well. Because these months, April and May, have me reminiscing about the strangest things. This seasonal weather will never let me forget the feeling of going to see the most influential movie of my life for the very first time. Okay, I’m about to tell you what it is, but don’t groan, at the time I was in an obsessive teenage mental state where my favorite movie franchise and most recent movie star crush could do absolutely no wrong. However, I don’t really believe this sullies my memory as I’ll never forget the feeling of being completely blown away by… Revenge of the Sith.

It was on a clear, chilly late afternoon in May that I carried my stuffed Ewok under my arm and walked into that cinema with my big brother. And in walking out after it had finished, it was apparent that I had been profoundly affected. My brother and I talked about that movie more than any I’ve ever seen, or have yet to see – we discussed it the entire 40 minute ride home. Some may turn their noses up at the prequel Star Wars trilogy, but that shit (as in ‘the’ shit) ruled my childhood, man. From the time I was 8 years old, with a brief relapse in the ‘Attack of the Clones’ era, to total domination in High School, when I was 15, Star Wars was my obsession. The behind the scenes of ROTS made me want to make movies, which led me to studying film. Watching George Lucas and his crew do their thang, creating that fantastical world I was so enamored with, looked like so much fun, I just had to be a part of it. Later, I did realise that film making wasn’t all brainstorming about the appearances of alien creatures, playing with lightsaber props and building volcano sets – as the making of Star Wars probably wasn’t all about – but still the dream was shattered. So, I stopped doing film and started studying creative writing instead, because at least I can create fantastical worlds in my head. And maybe, if they’re awesome enough, they will be made into movies and I will be invited on set to play with prop swords and such and be involved in an exciting creative process.

Ah, what big ambitions I have. I feel like just giving myself a toy lightsaber and a pat on the head. Then I’d reply to myself, “Don’t patronize me woman”, and then I’d realise that a response like that warrants some heavy medication and a straight jacket.

The point is, as all my points are so resoundingly clear, that the greatest cinematic experience of my life, so far, was seeing that movie. As some may have felt watching A New Hope for the first time in 1977, I felt with Revenge of the Sith in 2005.

And, to be completely honest, it did help that I thought Hayden Christensen was the hottest thing in Jedi robes that had ever graced god’s green earth. Don’t hold it against me, regardless, the movie was still brilliant.

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “So…you think you’re a cat.

  1. […] for all our products (enough to fill a small pharmacy), and the wardrobe, in the room I sprayed my mind juices on, is roughly the size of a bomb shelter, […]

Leave a Reply

